Loader

SPARK 思邦 2020 07/12: 甜蜜的青春鸟

“年纪大了,智慧便枯竭了。” —-威廉·莎士比亞

当下的青年人口数比以往任何时候都多,24岁以下的人数占全球78亿人口的40%。

这些年轻人在一个充斥着流行病爆发,全球经济衰退和部分言论自由丧失的环境中成长至成年。

青年文化是千禧年里很显著的一种现象。但是除了学校和家庭,大部分我们已有的环境都忽略了青年人群,除非他们有消费的能力。我们似乎总是在寻找使他们远离街头的方法,但是青年在城市中心发展中扮演着重要的角色。但是他们可以去哪里呢?

年轻一代彼此之间是紧密连接的,他们有着更多接受教育的机会,他们更加健康,更少受到社会框架的约束,同时,他们拥有更高的期望。

由于社交媒体和网络的全球化以及信息的民主化,不同背景和地区的青年人对不同的生活的选择更加开放。触手可及的开放式交流平台,使他们可以在全球范围内建立联系。

互联网是青年人最有机会探索和表达他们自身和社会关系的地方,同时网络通过提供的价值来引导青年人。那么,现实环境中是如何对他们响应的呢?

有趣的图形和定制的室内装置

在SPARK思邦,我们希望通过设计来改变我们所期望的未来社会。我们的工作聚焦在社会变革,过去、现在、未来的关系,进而这些关系中对于年轻一代的意义。像青年人一样,我们相信技术的进步,和对人性乐观的看法。我们必须避开基于完美假设的纸上谈兵的乌托邦,因为“目的导向”的青年群落需要更加清晰的影响和指导,这些干预需要可信的叙述和意义。

他们不会被错位的幻想项目所愚弄,实际上,如果我们足够敏锐并且捍卫新一代的社会价值,那么这些不切实际的项目也就不需要了。

我们有共同的责任来应对诸如全球气候变化和社会分配不公等对我们生活方式的威胁。请不要让它们发生,这取决于我们每一个人。

以下项目是SPARK思邦为年轻人设计的场所,这些场所无一例外地探索如何通过想象力来捕捉世界未来的活力。在当下,社交媒体,移动技术和在线社区已经成为推动社会和环境变化的最佳工具之一。

GR.iD商业改造

客户:Gaw Capital

改造前后对比

SPARK思邦将现有破旧的购物中心改造成一个以年轻人为中心的开发项目,并融合了新加坡Selegie教育区充满活力的氛围及文化。通过“俄罗斯方块”布局的零售和F+B体量和露台,来发掘面向街道商店的潜在价值。我们创造了一个全新的品牌形象,鼓励通过一个与艺术学院相邻的5米宽三层高的社交楼梯直接连接到地下室里的休闲和食品商店。主要的改造设施包括新的盥洗室、社交活动空间及激活的空隙。

GR.iD将成为新加坡青年社区的活动场所。

场地区位

社交阶梯

社交盥洗室

美食街

活动空间

主要出入口

图形语言

“俄罗斯方块”堆叠的零售空间

新加坡OR_SOME格兰芝路改造

客户:鹏瑞利

活动空间

位于乌节路的青年聚集场所

SPARK思邦构想的OR_SOME是一个令人激动的年轻人集聚地,致力于为青年一代提供日常丰富多彩的活动演艺空间,同时也集合了休闲餐饮和兼具教育功能的综合零售场所。

活动空间

SPARK思邦即兴创作场所的灵感来源于Cedric Price在1962年提出的“趣味宫殿”(Fun Palace),一个关于将公众置身于沉浸式互动场景中的理论。

OR-SOME用全新的视觉和物理语言最大化的赋予了乌节路的典型属性,从而同乌节路 “青年三角”周边已经非常成熟的青年活动区域相结合。

持续的弹性场地

灵活性

活动日程

‘游击式’或‘战术城市主义’的概念已在世界各地证明:‘持续的弹性场地’可以成功地置于多种都市场景。其中一项有效策略是灵活地对实体空间进行调整,为创意提供综合性的搭载平台和设施以此激发人们全新的线下体验。

电子游戏活动

电子屏幕和垂直绿化

北戴河沙堡

客户:阿那亚

沙滩上的青年便利设施

SPARK思邦沙堡是一个海滨结构的建筑,包括水上运动中心,攀岩墙,沙滩淋浴和洗手间,海滩酒吧,瞭望台,表演舞台和零售商店。位于北戴河阿那亚度假村新开发的南部海滩上的沙堡,是该度假村中一系列装饰性建筑群中的新项目。SPARK思邦沙堡部分掩埋在景观中,作为海滨步道的延续,通过一体化座椅和滑梯,沙堡酒店提供了友好的多层次多方向通道。沙堡顶部安置了海滩警示旗和一个为零售店发电的风车。一个社交庭院坐落在沙堡的中心地带,配备了沙滩酒吧、商店和社交楼梯。在活动和音乐会期间,沙堡瞭望台也兼做DJ的舞台。

步行道

海鸥视角

有趣的青年设施

沙丘建筑

多层多向通道

信天翁视角

Loader

SPARK 2020 07/12: The sweet birds of youth

“When the age is in, the wit is out.” —- William Shakespeare

There are more young people than ever before, 40% of the global population of 7.8 billion is aged 24 or under.

These young people approach adulthood in a world scarred by a pandemic, a global recession and a loss in parts of the world of freedom of speech.

Youth culture is a distinctly 20th-century phenomenon but apart from the school and the home, most of our built environment ignores young people unless they have money to spend. We always seem to look for ways to keep them off the streets, but youth can play a pivotal role in the growth of city centres. But where can they go?

The youth generation are connected, they have access to education, they are healthier, they are less bound by social conventions and their expectations are high.

Thanks to social media and the internet’s globalisation and democratisation of information, young people from all backgrounds and locations are more open to alternative life choices, they have an open communication platform at their fingertips that allows them to connect on a global scale.

The internet is the place where young people most find their opportunity to explore and express their identities and their social relations, and navigate their way through the values that are on offer. So how does the built environment respond?

SPARK‘s GR.iD: fun graphics and bespoke interior installations

At SPARK we design to alter perceptions on the kind of future society we deserve. Our work is concerned with social change, the relationship between past, present and future, and what this means for the younger generation. Like them we embrace technological advances and share their optimistic vision of human nature. We steer clear of the paper utopias that postulate green floating futures of perfection. Today’s purpose-driven youth demand interventions that have a believable narrative and a sense of meaning.

They are not fooled by dystopic fantasy projects, indeed they are not needed if we are vigilant and defended the social values of the new generation.

We have a collective responsibility to deal with the global threats to our way of life like climate change and social injustice. Don’t let them happen. It depends on you.

The SPARK projects illustrated below are places we have designed for youth, hopefully places that illustrate imagination and capture the energy of a world where social media, mobile technology and online communities have become one of the greatest vehicles for social and environmental change.

GR.iD

Client: Gaw Capital

SPARK’s GR.iD: before and after

SPARK has transformed an old retail mall into a youth focussed destination for Gaw Capital that embraces the eclectic and vibrant atmosphere of Selegie, Singapore. The value of street facing shops has been captured into a “Tetris” of retail and F+B volumes with terraces. E have created a new brand identity for the development that links basement leisure and food outlets via a 5m wide triple height social staircase to the adjacent School of the Arts. Transformative installations include new washrooms, new social “hang out” spaces and activated voids.

GR.iD is set to become the happening place for Singapore’s youth community.

SPARK’s GR.iD: site location

SPARK’s GRiD: social stair

SPARK’s GR.iD: social washroom

SPARK’s GR.iD: food street

SPARK’s GR.iD: event space

SPARK’s GR.iD: main entrance

SPARK’s GR.iD: graphic language

SPARK’s GR.iD: “tetris” stacked retail

OR_SOME @ Grange, Singapore

Client: Perennial

SPARK’s “OR_SOME”: event spaces

SPARK’s “OR_SOME”: a new youth destination on Orchard Road

SPARK has conceived OR_SOME an exciting youth focussed destination predicated on providing events and performance combined with casual dining and active educational retail.

SPARK’s “OR_SOME”: event space

OR_SOME is improvisational place making inspired by the theoretical ideas of Cedric Price’s 1962 “Fun Palace” where the public were immersed within an interactive environment.

OR_SOME is a new visual and physical vocabulary that radically expands the typical Orchard road typology to create a destination that conjoins Orchard’s “Youth Triangle” destinations together.

SPARK’s “OR_SOME”: the permanent pop up

SPARK’s “OR_SOME”: flexibility

SPARK’s “OR_SOME”: event calendar

The notion of “guerrilla” or “tactical urbanism” has proven around the world the “permanent pop-up” can successfully serve many purposes. One of these is agility in testing new ways of dealing with the remediation of physical space and the encouragement new youth experiences by providing platforms and faciulities for invention.

E gaming at SPARK’s “OR_SOME”

SPARK’s “OR_SOME”: digital + green screens

Beach Club Aranya, Beidaihe

Client: Aranya

SPARK’s Beach Club Beidaihe: youth amenity on the beach

SPARK’s Sand Castle is a waterfront amenity that envelopes a water sports centre, rock climbing wall, beach shower and washrooms, beach bar, lookout, performance stage and retail shop. Located on the southern beach of the Aranya Resort, Beidaihe, the Sand Castle is the latest addition to a string of functional follies for the resort. Partially buried in the landscape and a continuation of the beachfront walk, the Sand Castle provides friendly multilevel multi-directional access, via ramps with integrated seats and a slide. It grows out of the beach and is topped by beach warning flags and a windmill that generates power for the retail store. A courtyard is at the heart of the castle serviced by the beach bar, store and social stair. During festivities the “lookout” doubles as a tribune for the DJ.

SPARK’s Beach Club Beidaihe: broad walk

SPARK’s Beach Club Beidaihe: seagull view

SPARK’s Beach Club Beidaihe: fun youth facilities

SPARK’s Beach Club Beidaihe: building as a sand dune

SPARK’s Beach Club Beidaihe: multilevel multi-directional access

SPARK’s Beach Club Beidaihe: albatross view