Loader

SPARK 思邦 2020 08/12: 从改造到焕然新生

在新冠肺炎惊人的影响并未完全被揭露前,一部分人已经开始忙于为城市的演变编撰策略。也许我们应该先见证在这场疫情中大规模死亡的原因,并停下来思考一下。现在并不是提出关于流行病的城市议题的好时机,何况更多未经检验的城市理念仅仅基于孤立的历史观察下。如果我们打算用科学来对抗这次大规模疫情,那么我们是否应该先用科学来思考和重塑我们所厌倦的都市主义?珍·雅各(Jane Jacobs)女士提出的“靴子不一定适于行走“的城市理念是沉重的,自她于1960年发表了《伟大城市的诞生与衰亡-美国都市街道的生活与启发》后再无进一步发展。

在后疫情时代我们需要可以为城市带来正向结果的设计思路。单单靠垂直绿化、屋顶绿化以及指状绿地是无法解决高密度高楼大厦建设所带来的问题。可以确定的说,上述的绿化方式并不足以帮助城市达到巴黎气候协定中所提出的,为减缓全球变暖而降低2摄氏度的目标。同时在后疫情时代,这些设计方式也无法吸引人们离开家到集体办公场所工作。就我个人而言,我并不打算今后都要通过网络来和别人交流。

由于城市复杂的综合属性,将其简化为一种可预测的运算法则是不可行的。因此我认为对于城市内涵的研究与预测,不过是出于傲慢的城市规划者眼中的模拟游戏?

场所营造和城市主义遭受了自伟大的园艺家埃比尼澤·霍華德 (Ebenezer Howard)到机器现代主义之父勒·柯布西耶(Le Corbusier)以来的冷酷的蒙昧主义的折磨。这些直至现在都被尊敬的人物仍旧影响着我们关于应该如何规划一个城市的想法,包括我在内!

珍·雅各(Jane Jacobs)对于一个社区想要保持持久力的观点在某种意义上是正确的。这种持久性必须要通过不断地的改变与自身的重塑,这一看似与稳定相悖的方式来实现。

宏愿城:改造

近几年来,SPARK的主要工作逐渐从超大型的城市项目转移到填充,更新,改造和小型城市的扩建。这些项目使得城市就像神秘博士重生一般,通过表面你也许不能识别出它,但是却很熟悉,他们有一种有关联性和延续感。

我们很有幸的参与了以下这些专注得体的城市转换的项目。这些项目意在回避中看不中用的设计,通过矫正人们喜欢用硬质铺装替代自然环境的陋习,从而改变近代关于城市生活的错误尝试,并最终改善城市森林中人们的生活方式。

宏愿城

客户: Quill Retail Malls

将曾部分废弃的购物中心改造成为一个可持续的自然通风的商场,中心环绕着活跃的梯形状公共空间。

改造前

改造后 – 沿街外立面

升喜廊

客户: YTL

升喜廊被重新改造为一个闪亮的城市地标,更是马来西亚首都吉隆坡面向世界为的独特广告。SPARK思邦设计了一个复杂和尖锐的外表面将现有的建筑采用水晶般的玻璃和石材面板包裹,在BUKIT BINTANG激发出可观的视觉联系。

改造前

改造后 – 钻石型外立面

资本大厦

客户: 凯德置地

SPARK思邦完成了凯德置地的总部“资本大厦”内部设计的重新规划与装修,运用全新规划理念,精心设计灯光与材料处理,放大入口视觉空间,为中层楼,标准楼层的电梯间以及电梯轿厢打造出焕然一新的氛围。

改造前

改造后 – 大堂空间

满家乐购物广场

客户:凯德置地

SPARK思邦通过增加屋顶并更新室内设计,从而将原有的室外中庭空间改造为舒适的室内购物空间。由多彩的像素化的花瓣图案覆盖的地面以及四层楼高的通风空间营造处当地独特的景致和热带气息。中庭的屋顶采用的是流状型ETFE气垫,可以通过调节进入商场的日光来降低热能吸收,从而将商场稳定在一个舒适的温度区间中。

改造后 – 屋顶施工

改造后 – 中庭屋顶剖面

改造后 – 室内设计

蓟州规划

客户:蓟州区政府

中国不断扩大的高铁网络预计将于2022年在蓟州设立停靠站。SPARK的规划方案旨在通过将与现有的湖泊和河流所接壤的新高铁站北部加入全新的功能来保持田园社区的品质。轨道的南侧规划了更高程度的房地产和规划,以支持在经济上支持城市未来的发展。

改造前

改造后 – 鸟瞰

改造后 – 农贸集市, 绿轴

改造后 – 高铁站候车平台

闵行沧源横泾港

客户:闵行区政府

我们对河滨的想法是使用了生态的主题来更新河流环境。我们将硅藻的形态抽象成二维和三维的物体,使河堤充满活力,讲述河流和环境再生的故事。

改造前

改造后 – 景观桥梁和滨水空间

活动空间

孟买利乐塔

SPARK思邦研究项目

孟买利乐塔项目探索了如何用混凝土、木材和回收利乐纸盒制成的可持续塔楼来安置住在孟买贫民窟的人。

印度孟买贫民窟

印度贫民窟住宅垂直解决方案

设计理念

利乐塔的组件

Loader

SPARK 2020 08/12: Transforming not converting

Even before the staggering impact of Covid-19 has been fully revealed, those that write about cities are busy concocting strategies for their transmutation. Perhaps we should be first bearing witness to this mass cause of death, and pause for a moment of reflection. This is not the time to accelerate pre-pandemic agendas for more of those untested urban ideas based on solely observation and historical navel gazing. We use science to combat the pandemic so perhaps we should be using science to reinvent our jaded notions of urbanism? Jane Jacobs’ urban theories are leaden “boots not meant for walking” and have not moved an inch since her 1960’s book The Death and Life of Great American Cities.

Post Covid-19 we need ideas that produce better outcomes for the city, it is simply not enough to plant walls and roofs, green fingering the city whist building tall in the name of the demi-god of densification. We can say with total certainty this will not help to reduce global warming targets falling lamentably short of the Paris 2-degree target. It will neither provide the post pandemic panacea we need to get us out of our homes and back to places of collective endeavour. I for one do not want to spend the rest of my life talking to people via a Tencent application.

The complex nature of the city is impossible to reduce to a predictive algorithm, so the notion that the city really be studied and predicted is I guess no more than Sim City urbanist hubris?

Place-making and urbanism has suffered from remorseless obscurantism from the great gardener Ebenezer Howard to father of machine modernism Le Corbusier, these still revered putative figures that still influence many a regurgitated idea on how we should plan a city, including me!

Jane Jacobs was right in the sense that a neighbourhood to have staying power, must constantly change and reinvent itself, stability through the seeming paradox of stability through change.

SPARK’s Vision City: transforming

Slowly the work at SPARK is moving away from the mega city project towards the infill, the regeneration, the transformation and the small urban addition. Projects that contribute to the Dr Who like regeneration of the city, you may not recognise the face but it has afamiliarity, a feeling of connectedness and continuity.

The following projects illustrate a number of projects we have been lucky to work on that are focussed on the tactful transformation of the city. An antidote to them is placed voracity for paving over nature, a deliberate avoidance of eye candy and Blade Runner technology, an attempt to fix the mistakes and misconceptions of the recent past to support the notion of a life between the buildings.

Vision City

Client: Gaw Capital

The transformation of an abandoned partially complete shopping mall into a sustainable naturally ventilated shopping mall centred around an activated terraced public space.

SPARK’s Vision City: before

SPARK’s Vision City: after – facade along the street

Starhill Gallery

Client: YTL

​The somewhat introverted Starhill Gallery was reinvented as an iconic urban landmark that now features heavily in advertising Malaysia’s attributes to the World. SPARK designed a complex and cutting edge envelope which wraps the existing building in a crystalline skin of glass and stone panels, providing valuable visual connection to Bukit Bintang.

SPARK‘s Starhill Gallery: before

SPARK‘s Starhill Gallery: after – diamond shape facade

Capital Tower Singapore

Client: Capitaland

SPARK redesigned the interiors of Capitaland’s headquarters Capital Tower, replacing the dated interior with a contemporary classic threshold experience that maximises the value of the space with a clutter-free plan that enlivens the arrival experience via carefully choreographed lighting and a comprehensive new material palette that extends from the primary lobby, to the mezzanine, the typical floor lift lobbies, and lift cars.

SPARK‘s Capital Tower: before

SPARK‘s Capital Tower: after – lobby

One Mont Kiara

Client: Capitaland Malaysia

SPARK designed to add a roof to the existing outdoor courtyard, and transforming the space into a comfort indoor shopping mall. In the meanwhile, renovated the finishes of interior with a pixelated “floral” floor surface that provides the space with a unique identity and pays homage to the building’s tropical context. The atrium roof is constructed using linear ETFE cushions that moderate the amount of sunlight entering the mall reducing heat gain and energy consumption whilst contributing to the thermal comfort of the mall.

SPARK’s One Mont kiara: the internal structure of the roof

SPARK’s One Mont kiara: courtyard roof section

SPARK’s One Mont kiara: Interior design

Jizhou Master Plan

Client: Jizhou Government

China’s expanding high speed rail network will stop at Jizhou in 2022. SPARK’s proposal seeks to maintain the qualities of the pastoral community by inserting appropriate new functions to the north of the new railway station bordered by an existing lake and river. The southern side of the tracks are planned with a higher degree of real estate density and programmes required to economically support the future growth of the city.

SPARK‘s Jizhou Master Plan: before

SPARK‘s Jizhou Master Plan: after – aerial view

SPARK‘s Jizhou Master Plan: after – farmers’ market, green axis

SPARK‘s Jizhou Master Plan: after – high speed rail platform

Minhang Cangyuan Riverfront

Client: Minhang Government

Our idea for the riverfront uses an ecological theme for renewing the river environment. We have abstracted the Diatom form into two- and three-dimensional objects that animate the river embankment telling the story of a river and environment in regeneration.

SPARK‘s Minhang Cangyuan Riverfront: before

SPARK‘s Minhang Cangyuan Riverfront: after – landscape bridge and waterfront recreation area

SPARK‘s Minhang Cangyuan Riverfront: after – recreation area

Mumbai Tetra Tower

SPARK research project

The Mumbai Tetra tower is an investigation into how to house sustainably those that live in the Mumbai slums in a hybrid tower manufactured from concrete, timber and recycled Tetra Pak cartons.

Slums in India

SPARK’s Mumbai Tetra towers:a vertical solution to slums in India

SPARK’s Mumbai Tetra towers:concept

SPARK’s Mumbai Tetra towers: tower components