Loader

SPARK思邦 2020 12/12: 水瓶时代的纯真与经验之歌

对于设计师而言,评估和展示其作品对于人与社区的社会影响以及意义是十分困难的。评估的方法充其量只是难以定义的工具,但毋庸置疑的是我们需要在设计工作中更加强调社会价值的创造。

SPARK思邦主要擅长的业务集中在大中型的城市商业项目,有着社区以及社会属性的项目在我们的项目中占比其实很小。

因此,我们承诺提供资金和资源去参与到与我们的专长、价值观以及设计激情相一致 的公益项目中。以FAI-FAH项目为例,这样的项目使得我们获得一种使命感。

有时候当我们在清晨醒来并思考到:“今天我将会变成更好的自己!”并投入时间来自我激励与成长。在这些清晨中有那么少许的情况下我们会得到一丝为社区作出贡献的成就感。

我们越来越生活在一个对做好事持怀疑态度的生活中,就像是谚语中常说的“好心没好报”。但即便如此,SPARK思邦仍在我们觉得值得的项目中投入设计激情,享受着项目过程中的点点滴滴,对能参与并为项目作出贡献而骄傲。

当我们希望掌控自己的命运,治愈Covid-19并解决严峻的环境问题时,我们第一次真正的开始了水瓶座时代。当然,我们不能像唐纳德特朗普喜欢的那样总是天真的想着重回曾经的⻩金时代。所有人都明白,我们的命运掌握在自己手中。

SPARK思邦最近宣布了“气候与生物多样性”计划。我们将根据以缓解气候破坏做出积极贡献的愿景来评估所有新项目。

GRi.D

我们将会继续提倡以更加节能的方式对现有建筑进行改造升级。就像是我们在新加坡 的GRi.D项目那样实践并推行Retro-First理念。

下面的例子阐述了过去几年我们对慈善公益项目所做出的一些贡献,包括:凯德置地希望基金会、Fai-Fah、绿色希望小学、SPARK思邦狗屋。

凯德置地希望基金会

SPARK思邦董事Stephen Pimbley 和林雯慧在工作室内经过数月的单色绘画实验之 后,最终他们决定出售他们创作的版画并将所得的基金全部捐献给新加坡公益金。 2009年12月,由他们所创作的版画在新加坡市政区的艺术馆举行了展览,并出版画册。

Stephen与雯慧的专题展览,本次展览的收益全部捐赠与希望基金会
艺术家对于沐川县绿色希望小学的印象。图片来源:凯德置地

绿色希望小学

2008年四川经历了严重的地震灾害。这次地震导致6.9万人丧生和480万的人无家可归。震后重建过程持续了许多年并几乎涵盖了社区的每个方面。

凯德置地委任SPARK思邦为乐山一个被地震摧毁的学校重建项目构思一个“设计任务书”。这所占地6千平方米的学校包括新的教室、一个⻝堂和一个供教师和学生使用的宿舍。

绿色希望小学
沐川县绿色希望学校建成照片,图片来源:凯德置地

设计任务书是由我们与之前的教师以及学生共同构思的。我们在当地居住了几天以便 于我们更好的去了解当地的情况从而更好的设计出社会以及环境友好的建筑设施。

简单而实用的学校最终在当地被设计、建造并投入使用,同时大幅提高了设施质量。几年之后在上海当学校的校⻓与Stephen再次⻅面时,校⻓给了Stephen一个大大的拥抱。项目圆满完成!

Fai-Fah

在2010年,SPARK思邦受泰国TMB银行委托在泰国曼谷的Prachautis区设计一所贫困儿童学校。学校坐落于两座翻新的店屋建筑中。来自TMB银行的志愿者会在整个星期为当地的儿童和⻘少年安排艺术和创意活动。

Fai-Fah: 设计灵感

“Fai-Fah”代表着光能。在这种精神的引导下,这所学校的设计是由Fai-Fah学校的学 生、艺术志愿者以及泰国TMB银行的客户服务代表们一起合作完成的。“设计工作室”所想出的如建筑外立面以及室内设计颜色凸显了设计过程的正能量以及社区对这个概念的所有权。

Fai-Fah: 改造后

SPARK思邦狗屋

SPARK思邦向蓝十字动物福利慈善机构捐献了两个狗舍。由Bow Wow Haus 组织的65个由建筑师、设计师、和艺术家设计的狗窝在经过为期一个月的展览之后,于2018年4月在伦敦圣潘克拉斯万丽酒店进行拍卖。

SPARK思邦狗屋

SPARK思邦狗屋 1

点击这里阅读更多SPARK思邦狗屋 1信息

SPARK思邦狗屋 2

点击这里阅读更多SPARK思邦狗屋 2信息

SPARK思邦设计的第一个狗窝是由聚对苯二甲酸乙二酯(PET)水瓶重新利用而制成的。第二个狗窝叫做“落水狗”,是由一个拥有一圈不同大小和形状的狗舍和中央饮水 池的圆形露台构成的,该狗窝是由回收的胶合板所制成。

两个狗窝被一些幸运的小狗所拥有!

SPARK思邦狗屋 1

SPARK思邦狗屋 2

SPARK思邦董事,合伙人Stephen Pimbley写于2020年12月

Loader

SPARK 2020 12/12: Songs of innocence and experience in the Aquarian Age

It is difficult for designers to evaluate and demonstrate the social impact and meaning of their work on people and communities. Methods of measurement are at best elusive tools but needless to say we collectively need to place increased emphasis on the creation of social value in our project work.

SPARK works almost exclusively in the commercial arena so projects of a community and social nature rarely form part of our oeuvre.

For this reason, we commit resources and funds to undertake pro- bono projects that are aligned to our passions, skills and value set. This affords the privilege of advocating a client’s cause, as in our Fai-Fah project where we effectively become ambassadors for the project, very heart-warming!

There are mornings when we wake and think, “today I’ll be a better person” and spend time to inspire some personal growth and for a rare few moments there is a sense of fulfilment that good has been done for the community.

We increasingly live in a world where it is almost obligatory to be cynical about doing some good, there is an old saying that “no good deed goes unpunished”, that said we continue to invest in projects we think worthwhile and have enjoyed every one of them and proud to have contributed.

For the first time we are truly at the beginning of the Aquarian Age when humanity wishes to take control of its destiny, shake off Covid- 19 and deal with the environmental emergency, surely we can’t take any further naïve steps backward and “dig” coal as Donald Trump was fond of saying. We know too much, our fate is in our hands!

SPARK recently declared for Climate and Biodiversity so we will be evaluating all our new projects against the aspiration to contribute positively to mitigating climate breakdown.

SPARK’s GRi.D

We will be advocating the upgrading of existing buildings (Retro-First ) like our GRiD project in Singapore, as a more carbon efficient alternative to demolition and new build.

We illustrate below a few of the many charitable pro-bono projects we have contributed to over the last few years including: SPARK “Dog House”, Fai-Fah, Capitaland’s Hope Foundation, and Green Hope Community School.

CapitaLand’s Hope Foundation

Having experimented with mono printing techniques in the studio over a number of months Wenhui and Stephen decided to sell the prints and donate the money to Singapore’s Community Chest. An exhibition of the prints was held at the Arts House in the civic District of Singapore December 2009 a small book was printed to accompany the exhibition.

Stephen and Wenhui’s monoprint exhibition, proceeds of which were donated to Hope Foundation
Artist Impression of Green Hope School in Muchuan. Photo Credit: CapitaLand

Green Hope School

In 2008 Sichuan experienced a terrible earthquake with 69,000 people losing their lives and leaving 4.8 million people homeless. The rebuilding process after the earthquake went on for many years and touched all aspects of the community.

SPARK was asked by CapitaLand to develop a design “brief “for a new school in Leshan to replace for the one that was damaged by the earthquake. The 6,000-square-metre school includes new classrooms, a canteen and a dormitory for teachers and students.

Green Hope School
Completed photograph of Green Hope School in Muchuan. Photo credit: CapitaLand

The design “brief” was developed at the original school in partnership with the children and the teachers. We spent a few days living locally to understand how best to articulate the requirements for a new socially and environmentally friendly facility.

The simple and pragmatic school was eventually designed and built locally, raising the quality the facilities exponentially. When the school headmaster met Stephen in Shanghai a few years later he gave him a big hug, job done!

Fai-Fah

In 2010 SPARK was asked by the Thai Bank TMB to design a school for under privileged school in the Prachautis district of Bangkok. The school is housed in 2 refurbished shop-houses. Volunteers from the bank run throughout the week arts and creative programmes for local children and teenagers.

SPARK’s Fai-Fah: inspiration

“Fai-Fah” means light energy and in this spirit designs were produced in collaboration with the Fai-Fah children, volunteer arts staff, and members of TMB’s CSR team. Ideas from the “design workshops” such as the façade screen and interior colours are evident in the finished building underlining the positive nature of the process and ownership of the concept by the community.

SPARK’s Fai-Fah: after transformation

SPARK in the Dog House

SPARK contributed 2 dog houses (kennels) to the Blue Cross pet charity. Organised by Bow Wow Haus the 65 kennels designed by architects, designers and artists were auctioned at the St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel London April 2018 following a month long exhibition.

SPARK’s Dog house

SPARK’s Dog house 1

Read more about the dog house 1 here.

SPARK’s Dog house 2

Read more about the dog house 2 here.

SPARK’s first kennel was manufactured from upcycled Polyethylene terephthalate (PET) water bottles. The second manufactured from recycled plywood was a series of larger and smaller kennels arranged around a central drinking bowl under the moniker “Reservoir Dogs”

Both kennels were snapped up by some lucky pups!

SPARK’s Dog house 1

SPARK’s Dog house 2

SPARK Founder Stephen Pimbley. December 2020