Loader

SPARK 思邦 2020 09/12: 为何中国客户偏爱SPARK思邦的设计?

“美好的生命应该充满期待、惊喜和感激。” —- 柏拉图

中国的当代设计正处于一个有意思的阶段,在某个极端来说,中国精美的历史建筑和另一种追求造型的大型建筑都相当知名。现在当代设计和建筑更普遍聚焦于空间和人,在SPARK思邦的项目设计中,中国的文化对我们的设计也有着深厚的影响和参考意义。

SPARK思邦在亚洲发展了20年,在中国发展了15年。可以说SPARK思邦的设计颇受中国市场的青睐和喜爱,我觉得总结来说可能有以下几点原因:

1. 擅长将国际现代风格与中国本土文化结合

我们非常关注场地精神,会慎重的思考如何打造一个既有当代特点,又有地域、历史和文化特色的建筑。通过将其中的传统元素与未来灵感进行巧妙连接,从而创造出新的创意火花。

这点在我们的城市更新项目中表现得尤为突出,近期完成的广州广船城市设计项目中,未来船场、文化方舟、滨水景观等,都巧妙的重塑了场地作为造船厂的历史记忆,同时高科技和具有未来感的形象又顺应了项目的时代特点。

广州广船城市更新项目:鸟瞰

广州广船城市更新项目:文化方舟

广州广船城市更新项目:滨水景观

2. 擅长跨界思维为设计带来多元创意元素

我们的企业文化是尽最大努力确保从董事到员工,对艺术、音乐、电影到科技的各种形式的文化都有一个跨界的认识,以确保我们的创意和想法有来自不同领域的灵感,从而使我们的设计更多元化,充满丰富的想象力。

吉隆坡升喜廊项目外立面改造设计的灵感来自法国设计师Christian Lacroix的歌剧院戏服展,最终完成的设计立面造型犹如褶皱的裙摆,极具雕塑感和时尚感。

升喜廊:雕塑般的外立面

法国设计师Christian Lacroix

升喜廊:斯蒂芬.平博理概念设计手稿

曼谷Fai Far儿童学习中心室内改造设计的灵感来自童话绿野仙踪里的The Golden Road(黄金大道),一条黄色的交通动线贯穿了整座建筑,极具视觉张力和梦幻色彩。

Fai Fah学习中心:工作坊活动照片

Fai Fah学习中心:轴测分析图

Fai Fah学习中心:内部楼梯

Fai Fah学习中心:艺术工作室

3. 擅长用新科技和技术经验为设计寻求最佳答案

面对每一个项目,我们会不断寻找全球先进案例,为我们的设计工作提供过去和当代的经验,并且希望通过新科技或新材料的运用,引领我们的业主寻找更适合项目的解决方案。

SPARK思邦早期的一个例子是新加坡的克拉码头,设计目标是打造出舒适宜人的室外商业街环境,所以我们设计了覆盖整个商业街的巨大雨篷。当时对雨篷材质的要求是轻盈、具备自清洁功能,我们选择的ETFE材料完美的实现了这一目标,而这也是这种材料首次在亚洲使用。

新加坡克拉码头:ETFE雨篷

新加坡克拉码头:ETFE雨篷与排风系统

在这个项目中,我们还利用了古老的技术经验,通过对西班牙阿尔罕布拉宫等古代建筑的研究,我们发现,建筑和公共空间的设计可以通过控制气流速度从而达到使空间被动冷却的效果。我们在克拉码头采用了这项技术,通过雨篷下的巨型风扇来加速街道上的空气流动,从而降低了克拉码头室外商业街的温度。

新加坡克拉码头:分析图

4. 擅长营造让人惊喜和愉悦的体验!

有的建筑让人沉思,有的建筑让人感到敬畏,而我们希望建筑是让人感到有趣和快乐的。我们往往喜欢打破传统和规则,通过创造一些意外和惊喜,去营造轻松愉悦的场所氛围和体验。

上海港国际客运中心是上海北外滩的一个总部办公项目,我们在其核心位置设计了几个色彩缤纷极具未来感的太空舱,让整个项目充满了科幻主义的色彩,给上海这座城市增添了一抹调皮的惊喜。

上海港国际客运中心:外滩夜景鸟瞰

上海港国际客运中心:未来感的太空舱

最近在新加坡即将完工的GRID青年和商业中心改造项目,我们在室内设计了一个男女共用的社交型洗手台,其造型独特而时尚,为年轻人提供了全新的社交体验。

GR.iD:社交型洗手台

GR.iD:活动空间

SPARK思邦取意于“思维的火花”,我们的理念是对待每一个项目,都犹如期待一个新生命的诞生,希望通过为其度身定制的新鲜而富有创意的设计,为客户和他们的项目激发出重要的价值提升,从而重塑人们的日常体验,给其生活带来欢乐和惊喜。

SPARK思邦董事闵薇写于2020年9月

Loader

SPARK 2020 09/12: Why does the China market respond well to SPARK’s design?

A good life should be full of expectation, surprise and gratitude.  —- Plato

Contemporary design in China is at an intriguing stage. The country has traditionally been known for, at one extreme, its refined historic architecture and the other shape driven mega projects. Now contemporary design and architecture focused on place and people is becoming more prevalent. China’s culture is rich with influences and referenced in many different ways in SPARK’s work.

Throughout SPARK’s 20 years of working across Asia and 15 years in China, the market has responded well to SPARK’s work, perhaps the reasons could be explained as follows:

1. SPARK is good at fusing international contemporary style with Chinese local culture

We care about the spirit of the place and carefully consider how to design a building, that not only displays contemporary characteristics, but also tells a story of the local history and culture. By combining the heritage of the site with a notion of future inspiration, a creative SPARK can be created.

SPARK’s urban regeneration projects display these characteristics, an example is our recently completed master plan for the historic Guangzhou International Shipyard. The design features elements like “the future dock” and the “culture ships” combined with a riverfront heritage park evokes the memory of industrial heritage. The futuristic image of project layered with a sense of history affords a new and meaningful contemporary character for the development.

SPARK’s Guangzhou shipyard master plan: aerial view

SPARK’s Guangzhou shipyard master plan: culture ships

SPARK’s Guangzhou shipyard master plan: riverfront heritage landscape

2. SPARK is good at “cross-border” thinking that brings a unique creative element to projects

We are a culturally diverse studio and enjoy the spark of our “cross border” conversations. We make a point of immersing our staff in culture in all its forms from art, music, and film to science and technology ensuring our projects are redolent of our cultural diversity and our SPARK style.

SPARK’s Starhill Gallery is perhaps the most well-known “high end” retail mall in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. SPARK’s design transformed the image and street presence of the existing building into an internationally recognisable icon. The façade renovation was inspired by the tailoring of opera costumes of the French designer Christian Lacroix,that display a great sense of theatricality and sculptural form.

SPARK’s Starhill Gallary: sculptural facade

French designer Christian Lacroix

SPARK’s Starhill Gallary: sketch by Stephen Pimbley

SPARK’s Fai Fah Prachautis is an interior regeneration project. A yellow circulation path runs vertically through the building, creating a sense of a colour and drama, inspired by the yellow brick road from the 1930s movie The Wizard of Oz.

SPARK’s Fai Fah: workshop

SPARK’s Fai Fah: axonometric diagram

SPARK’s Fai Fah: staircase

SPARK’s Fai Fah: art studio

3. SPARK embraces new technology and when combined with our 20 years of local market and technical experience we can deliver appropriate design solutions

We consistently search for new design and construction technology and materials, and apply the research to each project , part of the process in helping our clients meet their ambition.

An appropriate example is SPARK’s transformation of Singapore’s Clarke Quay. The old river frontage and shophouse lined streets were ingeniously reimagined into a pleasant activated al fresco street. Elegant street covering canopies provide environmentally friendly shading and cooling. The lightweight canopies are covered using the self-cleaning ETFE foil (Ethyl Tetra Fluro Ethylene), the first application of the material in SE Asia.

SPARK’s Clarke Quay: ETFE canopy

SPARK’s Clarke Quay: ETFE canopy and fan

Our research covering passive cooling in classical architecture such as the Alhambra Palace in Granada, Spain proved that we could manipulate air flow to cool Clarke Quay’s spaces naturally. We employed the technique at Clarke Quay to accelerate air flow through the streets “venturi effect” to naturally cool the environment.

SPARK’s Clarke Quay: diagram

4. We are good at creating exciting and pleasant experiences

We believe architecture needs to engage with the environment to create interesting and pleasant environments for people. We like to reinvent rules and traditions, creating new frameworks to build engaging atmospheres and pleasant socially sustainable experiences.

SPARK’s Shanghai International Cruise Terminal is a headquarters office development located north of the historical ‘Bund’ centre of Shanghai. The focal point of the development is a structure named the “Shanghai Chandelier” a glass-clad portal. The Chandelier provides the development with a focal point unique identity afforded by the Chandelier’s futuristic suspended structures.

SPARK’s Shanghai International Cruise Terminal: night view

SPARK’s Shanghai International Cruise Terminal: Shanghai Chandelier

SPARK has recently transformed an old Singaporean mall into a youth focused retail and education destination named GR.iD. The fun graphics and bespoke interior installations provide a new social experience for the young generation, including unique social washroom, event and gathering spaces.

SPARK’s GR.iD: social washroom

SPARK’s GR.iD: event space

SPARK reshapes people’s everyday experience by delivering special moments, designing something magical, something that’s not ordinary, something that brings a spark of joy and fun into people’s lives.

SPARK partner Min Wei. September 2020